Open the menu

    Home > I explore Aubrac-Laguiole > Locate the region > Location of the region

    Location of the region

    Here are a few extra indications - you will have no more problems in finding the road to your next destination !

    At the heart of Aubrac plateau

    At the heart of the Aubrac plateau

    The Aubrac, a vast basaltic plateau in middle mountains between 1000 and 1500 m above sea level. It extends over 2500 sq. km (250,000 ha) with six inhabitants per sq. km. The plateau is bordered to the North and West by the Gorges de la Truyère, to the South by the Lot Valley and to the East by the Margeride along which runs the A75.

    The Aubrac plateau straddles three departments (Aveyron, Cantal and Lozère) and three regions (Midi-Pyrénées, Auvergne and Languedoc-Roussillon). The Cross of the Three Bishops located near the village of Aubrac symbolises the junction of three dioceses and the fact that the inhabitants share the plateau.

    To the North of the department of Aveyron

    The Aveyron is located in the Midi-Pyrénées. It has one of the largest surface areas of any department in France. The department has extremely varied landscapes with different natural regions like the Lot Valley, the Ségala, the Lévézou mountains and lakes, the Tarn gorges and valley, the causses (limestone plateaux), the Carladez and of course the Aubrac!