Open the menu

    Home > I explore Aubrac-Laguiole > Locate the region > Aubrac-Laguiole community of communes

    Aubrac-Laguiole community of communes

    The Aubrac-Laguiole community of communes was formed in 2010 and groups two cantons - Laguiole and St. Chély d'Aubrac. It has seven communes :


    The commune of Laguiole covers 63.10 sq. km for 1309 inhabitants, i.e. 20 inhab/km2. It comprises a village with about nine hundred inhabitants and several outlying hamlets and farms. There are three churches in the commune: Laguiole, Montmaton and Alcorn, previously the main parish.


    This village nestling in the heart of the Valley of the Boralde de St Chély is home to several elements of architectural heritage from the 14th century to the present day. Its streets hide the Pèlerins (Pilgrims) bridge (classified as a Cultural Object in the UNESCO World Heritage Site), the church with its double gallery and 14th century altarpiece (one of the first alterpieces in Europe), the washhouses, half-timbered houses and more. The last stage of the Aubrac on the GR65 (Route to Santiago de Compostela) before the Lot Valley, the village is 820 m above sea level.
    The commune covers 78.7 sq. km for 572 inhabitants.